Anxiety Medication: One Year In

I just took my daily anti-anxiety medication, which I’ve been taking for about a year now. I am 45 years old, and I must have been 25 when I first asked for, and received, a prescription. I put it off for DECADES out of fear of “not being myself.” That was a silly mistake.

When my doctor prescribed the medication he gauged my anxiety as “severe” based on Q&A. A few months ago, still in the midst of the pandemic, he gauged it as “mild.” I still have a bad day here or there, but it’s a whole new game. I don’t worry about the same things as much.

Sometimes I catch myself not being as “weird” about worrying about things, like whether my kid will get hurt, or whether the person on the phone will be annoyed with me, and wonder if that’s the medication at work. It’s a bunch of little things adding up to a life improvement.

People who follow me know I’m not a super-private person. I’m usually pretty happy to wear my emotions on my sleeve. But it’s easy to overlook the importance of talking about medication and how it might help. It’s now my status quo, so I forget about it. Maybe this will help you.

*****
Written on